Book Bloggers Abroad – New International Event!

New-ZealandAs a book blogger, I enjoy meeting people from other countries and to discuss books. But what do we actually know about each other? What’s it like to be a book blogger in a far away country? Do you have access to the books you want to read? Do you have electricity failure or internet disruptions? Do you have limited time for blogging because you’re working full-time? Or do you have a housekeeper and plenty of free time?

And where do you read? Is it warm enough to sit in the garden under a tree, or is it much too warm or cold for that? Where’s your favorite book store? What’s your favorite national author?

I’m so curious to know more about you all, and I’m sure I’m not the only one.

So, would you like to participate in an international event? It’s going to be called Book Bloggers Abroad. Each week, I’m going to ask one guest blogger to answer these questions, preferably with some pictures (not necessarily of you, but of your favorite place to read, your book store, etc.). It’s a great way to tell us about yourself, your country, and to get new people find their way to your blog.

TunesiaCroatiaIsrael

I hope to run this event for 15 weeks. If there is a lot of interest, we’ll run for longer, and maybe repeat some countries (with different participants).

How to participate?
Please don’t answer the above questions in a comment – if you want to participate, either email me at jh303015 (at) gmail (dot) com or leave your email address and the address of your blog in the comments below. Let me know what country you’re from and whether you would be able to send me some pictures.

USAMalaysiaGreenland

I’d like to have participants from all over the world, and would particularly (but not exclusively) like to encourage Book Bloggers from Eastern Europe, South America, Africa and Asia to participate.

Do join in! It’s going to be fun!

CopenhagenJapanGhana

==== So many people want to join in, it’s really great! For that reason, please note that for the moment, I have enough entries from UK, USA, Australia and Canada. I am particularly looking for more entries from Eastern Europe, Africa and South America, but others are also very welcome to enter! ====

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

69 Responses to Book Bloggers Abroad – New International Event!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Book Bloggers Abroad – New International Event! « Leeswammes's Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Jane says:

    If you don’t mind participants from somewhere as non-exotic as London, I’d love to take part, complete with pics too! I write over at For Books’ Sake, and the best email to get me on is jane[at]forbookssake[dot]net.

  3. gnoegnoe says:

    I’m confused… Does this in any way relate to the intl event Carin is organizing?

  4. Nymeth says:

    What a splendid idea! I look forward to discovering more bloggers from all over the world.

  5. Carin B. says:

    Very cool event. Will write a post up to help you promote if on my blog if you would like me to. Also retweeted your post!

  6. Bellezza says:

    This sounds like a great idea! I’d love to participate. My country is the United States, and in particular, the Chicago-land area. I’d be glad to send photographs, answer questions, fit in as you see fit. Just give me the questions and the time frame! My email is bellezza.mjs@gmail.com

  7. What a wonderful idea! I hope to travel to South Africa this fall and will see if I can find bloggers living there, wouldn’t that be exciting!

    I would love to participate, there is a parkbench at the end of our property at the new house that I imagine my sitting on, reading and knowing that George Washington spent two winters on the property. I’m so excited to learn more history!

    • leeswammes says:

      Hi Mari, that’s great! A bit of George Washington history would be perfect. And a South African blogger or two: I’m not saying NO to that, for sure!

  8. Mel u says:

    I blog from the Philippines -I will be happy to participate and might post some pics –

    rereadinglives.blogspot.com

    readinglives (at)gmail (dot)com

    Mel u

  9. winstonsdad says:

    sounds like a great idea lee ,all the best stu

  10. Novroz says:

    Hi leeswammes thank you for dropping an announcement in my blog 🙂

    Tho I’m not a 100% book blogger, this sounds really interesting…I’m in. I’ll try to get some pictures too.

  11. Jenn says:

    Does Canada (Ontario), count? Not too exotic, I know… 😉

    I’m a new book blogger, but I would love to do a guest post (just tell me what to do!) and I’ll see if I can find some pics as well…

    Jenn
    http://readingincanada.blogspot.com/

    • leeswammes says:

      Hi Jenn. Canada certainly counts! It’s somewhere in the world, so that’s fine (actually, book bloggers beyond the Milky Way would also be very welcome, maybe next time around). I have a few people from Canada who are interested, but I will put you on the list. There’s no rule that says each country can only take part once! Thanks for signing up!

  12. Esme says:

    What a fun idea-I am in S. California-I would love to participate.

    chocolate and croissants at yahoo . com

  13. Rikki says:

    Definitely count me in. I’ll blog about it tonight, too.

  14. gnoegnoe says:

    OK, count me in too! You *have* to have someone from NL as well, don’t you? 😛

  15. chasing bawa says:

    What a great project! I’ll be waiting to read the posts with bated breath!

  16. Kaleido says:

    Love the idea! Def count me in 🙂
    (This is N again 😉 from your team at Shelfari)

  17. Tes says:

    What a great event! I’m not the bookblogger, but I love reading a lot, I’m collecting books from every where even if it’s from the language I don’t understand and enjoy stories of people around the world. I’m from Thailand + India. I might not be able to contribute the type of work that you need. But I can’t wait to see what you guys are doing with full support.

    • leeswammes says:

      Tes, I absolutely love your blog and I think you deserve to be included. Especially now it turns out you read a lot too! So if you want, you are welcome to write a guest blog for the Leeswammes blog.

  18. winstonsdad says:

    obviously writing a translated lit blog was to boring to reply too !

  19. Carin B. says:

    When I was looking at your pictures in this post I recognized Nyhavn in Copenhagen! I have had drinks there! Very picturesque and beautiful! Europe is so pretty and unique. I really want to go back and visit some other countries someday. I hope to put up a post in a little bit about your event on my blog. I’ll let you know when I get it up! I’m going to borrow some of the pictures too if you don’t mind. 🙂

  20. Carly says:

    Hi! I’d love to be a part of this, it sounds awesome. I’m from a little village in the middle of the country in the UK and I’d be delighted to send some photos! My blog is http://carlybennett.blogspot.com and my email is carlybennett@hotmail.com. I’d really love to get involved 🙂 x

  21. Pingback: The Bookkeeper » Book Bloggers Abroad – Int’l event

  22. Cat says:

    A great idea. I’ll do a post on my blog to help spread the word.

  23. Violet says:

    I’m from Austalia, and am happy to participate if you don’t already have too many Aussies. I can post pics.

  24. Violet says:

    Well, I’m from AUSTRALIA, actually. 🙂

  25. Novroz says:

    It’ll take time to take pictures…will you set up a dead-line or we can send you email anytime we want/can?

    • leeswammes says:

      Hi Novroz, you can send me your post when you want, but I need to be sure that I have enough posts ready for the near future. How about sending something within 2 weeks from now? (As long as I have a few people that are faster than that, it’s not a problem) Looking forward to your entry!

      • Novroz says:

        I think I’ll be ready in 3weeks. I want to take pictures of my fav library and my schedule to go there is the 1st of July (because it is quite far, I onlly go there when I have read all my borrowed book or because the time is almost over)

        I can easily search it thru google but I like taking my own pictures.

      • leeswammes says:

        Novroz, it’s very good of you that you want to make it something special, I appreciate that a lot. 3 weeks is also fine. I’ll schedule you for publishing the post in 4 or 5 weeks, OK?

  26. Ooh this sounds fantastic!! I would love to participate too, I’m from Hungary (Central Europe). You can reach me at stella.exlibris (at) gmail (dot) com

    • leeswammes says:

      Stella, how wonderful you want to join in! I have been following your blog for a while but didn’t realize you’re from Hungary. That’s brilliant because I haven’t got anyone from Eastern Europe yet (I guess most don’t write in English). I will send you further info by email.

  27. Teresa says:

    I’d like to participate. I am in the US in Colorado. My blog is http://www.teresasreadingcorner.blogspot.com

    teresasreadingcorner at gmail dot com

  28. Amanda says:

    Hi Judith,

    I’d love to participate – I live in Outback Australia! And I have gazillions of fantastic pictures of my adventurous and very unusual life(I’m an anthropologist who works to protect Aboriginal sacred sites).

    my email: rhuna9atgmail.com

    cheers,

    🙂

  29. Novroz says:

    @leeswammes 4 weeks from June 19 is July 17 right?

    I’ll sent you my post before that date 🙂 I see that the 1st post had appeared 🙂

  30. Amanda-Lee says:

    Wow you already have so many Aussies!

    I am a city chick from Sydney who does Storywings an I would love to participate!

    • leeswammes says:

      Hi Amanda, that’s great. For the moment, I’m having enough Aussies, but I’ll put you on the “reserve” list which means if someone drops out, or later in the year, I’ll get back to you about it.

  31. Pingback: Love for For Books’ Sake « Jane Claire Bradley

  32. Alexandra D says:

    If I can still participate,I would be very happy to do it!!
    I’m from Romania and my email is d (dot) alexandra2 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  33. Pingback: My Favourite New Blogs – Farm Lane Books Blog

  34. Pingback: Friday Blog Hop « Leeswammes' Blog

I love comments! Let me know what you think.