5 Best Books … That Take Place In The Future

5 Best BooksCassandra of Indie Reader Houston is running the meme: “5 Best Books”. Every week, a different topic is suggested by Cassandra and participants list what they think are the 5 best book for that topic. Click HERE to see the topics for the next few weeks.

This week, the topic is 5 best books that take place in the future. As many of you know, I love dystopian novels, and most of them take place in the future. So, this is an easy task for me.

The Children of Men by P. D. James

The Children of Men by P. D. JamesMy first choice is one of the best dystopian books ever: The Children of Men by P. D. James. In this book, women can no longer have babies. The last baby was born 25 years ago. The country is full of ageing people and is slowly falling apart.

The year is 2021. Theo Farren, a middle aged man and cousin of the Warden (a despotic ruler), is leading a quiet life, until he’s approached by a group of dissenters. His life changes dramatically.

.

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

Another obvious choice for me. In Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell, there are several connected stories, running from the past into the future. Two of the six stories take place in the future.

One is in such a distant future (post-apocalyptic at that) that the writing becomes very hard to follow. The idea is that language has evolved further (as it always does) and so, a story from the distant future would be hard to understand for us.

The six stories are all in a different format (diary, letters, interview, etc.) which I found very interesting. My review is HERE.

Speed of Dark by Elizabeth Moon

Speed of Dark by Elizabeth MoonElizabeth Moon is a real science fiction author, with space ships and all that, but Speed of Dark is about a future on Earth, around 2035, where a group of autistic people are working in a company finding complex patterns in computer data.

Their company insists that they follow a new medical procedure, to become “normal”. The main character doesn’t know whether he wants to be “normal” and realises that “normal” people quite often act in a way that goes against what he has been taught is normal. So, as an autist, his learned behaviour often is more “normal” than that of “normal” people.

Very interesting book about what is normal, and whether that really is a good thing to be!

Th Road by Cormac McCarthy

The Road by Cormac McCarthyThe Road by Cormac McCarthy is a book you either love or hate. It’s all very bleak and unpleasant, and the writing is sparse.

The book is about the journey of a father and son after an apocalypse has killed most people. The earth is barren and full of ashes. They go from place to place hoping to find tinned food at abandoned houses.

Less scrupulous people are happy to kill them for their own meal. Beautifully written but oh, so bleak.

Blind Faith by Ben Elton

Blind Faith by Ben EltonIn Blind Faith by Ben Elton, we’re 100 years in the future. Life is all about being famous, and showing all aspects of your life on web casts, which are transmitted 24/7 as dictated by the Temple, a new religion.

Trafford is a 30-something man who likes to be anonymous. Not only is this almost impossible, it’s a sin, too! He becomes acquainted to a group a people that illegally vaccinate children, as 50% of children die of children’s diseases.

A great satire about being famous, fast food, karaoke, religion, skimpy clothing, really about everything that “people” like!

What books about the future made a big impression on YOU?

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

36 Responses to 5 Best Books … That Take Place In The Future

  1. Louise says:

    I loved The Road, it was a harsh read, but i loved it all the same. I’ve not read Cloud Atlas, i’ve picked it up a few times… and then put it back.. i’ll take a look at your review later 🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Louise, *Cloud Atlas* is a long book and not an easy read either. But I liked it for being so different. It’s historical fiction and dystopian, there are different formats for each story (letter, interview, etc.) and that was really refreshing.

  2. I loved The Road too – the bleakness was part of what I loved about it.

    I tried to read Cloud Atlas once but didn’t make it very far – should I try again?

    I love the sound of Children of Men. Must look that one up.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Boof, since P. D. James is also a crime writer, I think you should try *The Children of Men*. It’s not crime actually, but a great book.

      Cloud Atlas: not sure in your case. 🙂 How are you with dystopia?

  3. Cindy says:

    I read The Road, McCarthy makes me want to chew my wrists off 😉

  4. Kristi says:

    I read Cloud Atlas a couple of months ago and really loved it. It kind of confused me at first, but it was really unique in a great way.

    I was surprisingly lukewarm on The Road. I think the depiction of humanity was a little more bleak than my own perception, but I will admit that it was powerful. It might just be that it was a little too disturbing for my taste.

    I’ll have to check out the others. Especially, The Children of Men.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Kristi, glad to find another lover of *Cloud Atlas*! *The Road* was disturbing, but I liked that – I thought it was very well done. And I guess it was one of the first dystopian books that I read that are of the post-apocalyptic type. So the whole idea was new to me, too.

  5. Uniflame says:

    Thanks for bringing Speed of Dark by Elizabeth Moon to my attention 🙂 It sounds like a book for me 🙂

  6. I’m not much of a dystopian lit person, but I did love The Handmaid’s Tale. That would probably on my list!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Col, that is also a very good book. I just couldn’t remember whether it take place in the future, or just in an alternate reality. But yes, definitely a great book.

  7. Julie P says:

    I haven’t read any of these titles! So, off to Goodreads to add to my ever-growing wishlist.

    Thanks for sharing, Judith…..

  8. Alex says:

    Have you seen the Children of Men adaptation? Is it worthy the book’s quality?

  9. Cassandra says:

    I had never heard of three of these books – which means I’m going to have to go and get for my summer break (starting next week!). I didn’t put Children of Men on my list because I had only seen the movie, and that didn’t seem right. Same for the road. I’m in Cormac country now, though, so I’m going to have to read it soon!

    Thanks again for another great list! I linked mine to this comment!

  10. I haven’t heard of Children of Men, but it does sound really good *heads off to try and find a copy*

  11. Suzanne says:

    I was fascinated by The Road; it’s not a genre I normally like but this book was very good.

    I’ve seen the movie The Children of Men and though I only saw it because of Clive Owen, I did enjoy it. It does sound like the movie took some liberties, so I should read the book too.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Suzanne, the book of *Children of Men* was better than the movie, I think. I read it at least twice, and wouldn’t find it a punishment if I was locked away with that book for a day. Well, the locking I wouldn’t like, actually. 🙂

  12. Dorte H says:

    I think I read P.D. James´ novel – because she also writes crime – but dystopia is just not me so I have not enjoyed any of the ones I have read by accident.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Dorte, I agree it’s a certain kind of novel that you have to like. Some people don’t like crime, some don’t like dystopia, some people don’t like romance. Well, we can’t like them all. 🙂

  13. Leslie says:

    I have The Road and Children of Men but haven’t read them yet. The other three I am not familiar with although I should know Speed of Dark because I am familiar with Elizabeth Moon.

    I’ll read most scifi and the dystopian and post-apocalyptic stuff too. I’m not much for pure fantasy though.

    • Leeswammes says:

      You should definitely read them, Leslie. Both *The Road* and *Children of Men* are really good. Well, they are on my 5 Best list! 🙂

  14. Erika says:

    I LOVED the movie based on The Children of Men. I should really read the book sometime. The Road and Cloud Atlas are also on my list of books to read.

  15. Vasilly says:

    The Children of Men and Cloud Atlas are two books that are on my tbr list. Glad to hear that they’re so good.

  16. Jenni says:

    Gotta go with The Long Walk by Stephen King. Also, The Stand had a huge impact on me. Geeze, it would be tough to choose just five because this is my favorite genre! Hunger Games, The Road…

    I’m intrigued by Speed of Dark, and I loved the Children of Men movie!

  17. Pingback: Down the side of the bed « Kaet's Weblog

  18. Pingback: Speed of Dark – Elizabeth Moon – Farm Lane Books Blog

  19. Pingback: {Bloggers Recommend} Favorite Books Set in the Future | Girlxoxo

I love comments! Let me know what you think.