Book Review: Sundays at Tiffany’s by James Patterson

Sundays at Tiffany's by James Patterson

This was my first book by James Patterson. I wasn’t sure what to expect but I knew this was one of his favorite books, mentioned often enough by friends and book groups.

It’s co-written by James Patterson and Gabrielle Charbonnet, which I only discovered when I looked very closely (the second name was mentioned in rather a small font).

It was an easy paperback for holiday reading and taking around. Indeed, I read it during my holidays in Spain, early July.

Sundays at Tiffany’s: What it is about

As a child, Jane Margaux had an imaginary friend, Michael, a handsome man who helped her cope with the world and especially with her Broadway producer mother Vivienne, who had very little time and interest to spend with her daughter.

But when Jane was 9 years old, Michael had to go. Since imaginary friends cannot stay when the child becomes 9 years old, Michael was assigned a new pupil. Jane was supposed to forget Michael ever existed.

Years later, aged 32, Jane is still lonely and getting the wrong kind of attention from her mother (now she’s interfering and suffocating Jane). Jane has a boyfriend whose only priority is himself. Then she meets a man who is very like the Michael from her childhood, whom she has not forgotten, somehow. Has he come back to her?

Sundays at Tiffany’s: What I thought

Entertainment value: 4 stars (I was on holiday, ideal!), literary value: about 2 stars.

How does it work when a book has two writers? I didn’t actually know there were two authors until I had a good look at the book. The second author was mentioned only in much smaller print. Did they write the book together? Did she write it and he approved of it, then put his name on it for marketing purposes?  I’m not sure how that works. Anyway, as this was my first book by James Patterson, I couldn’t say whether this is or is not his writing style.

The book is very easy to read, my eyes would just fly down a page and I’d have read it, 15 seconds maybe per page. So, the 280 pages didn’t take long.

I enjoyed reading the story, especially the concept that children who need it, are assigned a real “imaginary” friend, who only they can see, and who they forget as soon as they turn nine years old when the imaginary friend has to leave.

The mother, Vivienne, was awful and it was satisfying to read how Jane at 32 years of age finally rebels and goes her own way.

On the other hand, I found it rather dodgy that  a man would fall in love with a woman that he knew as a small girl. But even worse, what was (adult) Jane’s love for Michael based upon? Was it her childhood memories of him (not good!) or the fact that he was handsome (not good either)? True love? I don’t know. I thought there was something not quite right about a relationship like that.

Of course there are some twists and turns to the story and it’s a quick and fun read.

Rating: 3.5/5

I got this book: from a recent book swap

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 280

First published: 2008

Genre: romance, contemporary fiction

Extra: See also my review of Pop Goes the Weasel by James Patterson

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

21 Responses to Book Review: Sundays at Tiffany’s by James Patterson

  1. Interesting… I wouldn’t recommend this one to you but would suggest Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas instead. There is ‘meat’ to the diary novel. I was a little disappointed with Sunday’s at Tiffany’s. I was a big Patterson fan in the 90’s, you haven’t read any of this novels? Kiss the Girls… dark, twisty, no way I could read it today.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I haven’t heard of Suzanne’s Diary for Nicholas Mari. I will keep it in mind. No, I don’t think I’ve ever read another Paateson, unless I forgot about it!

  2. Nish says:

    I’ve read enough James Patterson so I know not to expect too much. He frequently writes combined with other authors, but the style of the books tend to be very similar- short chapters, easy to read, bland…

    I think I’ll probably skip this one

  3. Melissa V. says:

    /Didn’t love this book. It was too cheesy and weird, but I did like the movie. Weird, right?

  4. Leslie says:

    The book was made into a movie for television. I don’t think it was ever in the theater. I haven’t read it but I do have a copy of it laying about somewhere. A good Patterson choice would be any of his early Alex Cross books. I think you would like those.

  5. I was wondering if the book is translated in Dutch, because lots of books by him are translated and the library has more Dutch books than English ones.

  6. winstonsdad says:

    I ve not read him yet know he writes a lot books they all seem popular maybe I should see what people like about him at some point before I judge him all the best stu

    • Leeswammes says:

      Stu, I sort of looked down on James Patterson and I think I still do. But I will take Leslie’s advice and try his mystery novels.

      • Leslie says:

        The Alex Cross books are some of his earliest and were written in the ’90’s, before he got commercial. Much better than what he is mass producing now.

  7. This was also my introduction to James Patterson, and unfortunately it didn’t make me want to read more. I LOVED the premise–I have a thing for books about imaginary friends–but as you observe, it did get dodgy in spots. Mostly I was frustrated by the ending. I like a good twist, but only when it’s set up, and the twist ends up explaining everything. This twist felt like bait-and-switch to me.

    I don’t think I realized there was a second author until reading this post…wow, that must have been small font in the copy I read…

    • Leeswammes says:

      Cheryl, the premise was indeed great, I loved the idea. But in the end, no, it didn’t all make sense. Still, it was an entertaining read if you didn’t think too hard about it. 🙂

  8. Pingback: The World’s Highest-Paid Authors – Forbes « Mind Your Language

  9. I do like this book and movie… i have to write an essay for my english class and i chose this one… 😀 <3<3<3 I watched the lifetime movie and liked it very much, i dont see why you guys didnt like it!!!!! :l

    • Leeswammes says:

      Glad you like it so much, Beatriz. What can I say, we don’t all like the same books otherwise we didn’t need so many different books in the world!

      Hope you get a great mark for the essay!

  10. Stacey says:

    I actually posed about this book today on my blog – it definitely isn’t one of Patterson’s best novels but I did thoroughly enjoy it! I do agree with the part about a man falling in love with a women that he knew as a child when you analyse it like that, however i still do appreciate and acknowledge the innocence of the romantic storyline (by turning a blind eye to the literal sense of things). I’ll be posting a few more book reviews on Patterson’s novels in the near future if you want to keep an eye out: http://alotofsweetnothing.wordpress.com

I love comments! Let me know what you think.