BBAW – Day 1: Appreciate

I’m participating in the Book Blogger Appreciation Week, which is an event to recognize the hard work and contribution of book bloggers to the promotion and preservation of a literate culture actively engaged in discussing books, authors, and a lifestyle of reading.

The blog post for today is about : Appreciating other bloggers
BBAW says: “Appreciation! There are no awards this year, but it can still be hard to navigate the huge universe of book blogging. Share with your readers some of the blogs you enjoy reading daily and why.”

Go to the BBAW hosting site to find links to other blogs taking part in the BBAW. These will also discuss the same topic today!


I find this SO difficult! I don’t really want to single out certain bloggers and not mention others. But I will give you just five of my favorite ones and you can be sure there are many more that I check regularly and enjoy reading. Go on and have a look for yourself!

Jackie of Farm Lane Books. Jackie keeps me up to date with new UK books. She often reads books from award shortlists, and inspires me to read some of those books too (I normally say “humbug” to awards lists). Our reading taste is quite similar.

Adam of Roof Beam Reader. Adam is inspires me to read the classics (which I do, sometimes) and he often reviews interesting books that I hadn’t heard of. Furthermore, he’s a generous and active blogger with a huge following.

Leslie of Under My Apple Tree. Besides books, Leslie has a love of birding and regularly shares pictures and information about the birds she discovers in her garden or out and about. She often reviews books that end up on my wishlist, too!

Shelleyrae of Book’d Out. I like following Shelleyrae because she’s such a lovely person! Our book tastes overlap only sometimes, but I’m always curious to see what she thinks of books that I’ve also read. She’s a great book ambassador in her community.

Suzanne of Bibliosue. Suzanne gets her hands on quirky books sometimes and the way she writes about them, I just have to get my hands on them. She also writes about her life, in an interesting, recognisable way.


Do you read these blogs too?

You should!

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

56 Responses to BBAW – Day 1: Appreciate

  1. Nish says:

    I am only familiar with Adam’s blog. Thanks for the other mentions, this is a great way to get to know other book bloggers

  2. Chinoiseries says:

    You whipped up this post really quickly! Now I’m starting to feel bad about not posting about my favourite blogs…

    I love Jackie’s and Adam’s blog as well 🙂 But I’m not very familiar with the other three. Time to check them out!

  3. Ooh I see some new-to-me blogs on your list, I will have to investigate. Hope you enjoy BBAW!

  4. Thank you for the mention! I love your blog too – you are responsible for a lot of my recent reading choices. Long may you continue to add to my TBR! I haven’t heard of Leslie’s blog *heads off to check it out*

  5. Suzanne says:

    Aww. Thank you so much Judith. The feeling is absolutely mutual. You have contributed to the expansion of my to read list many many times.

  6. Elizabeth says:

    I have visited every blog you mentioned except Farm Lane Books. Heading over there in a few minutes.

    Have a fun week. I am not participating, but am going to check out what folks have to say. I hope I can participate next year. Not really sure how this works.

    Enjoy!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

    • Leeswammes says:

      Elizabeth, thanks for your comment. You can go to the BBAW website and join in, it’s still possible. Just make a post with your favorite bloggers and leave the link on the website (on this post). I hope you discover some new blogs.

  7. Lyanne says:

    Nice list! I see a lot of new blogs about books. Thanks!

  8. These are some great ones, Judith!

  9. Marie says:

    All of these except Adam’s are new-to-me blogs here, so I’m looking forward to investigating them and adding to my Bloglovin’ feed!

  10. Trish says:

    I’m familiar with Jackie and Adam’s blogs and would you think I was silly if I noted that both of these bloggers intimidate me! 🙂 I’ll have to check out some of the others as well, though I do know Suzanne from twitter.

  11. Shan says:

    I enjoy reading all of those blogs you mentioned!

  12. Book Nympho says:

    I just discovered the first 2 blogs you mentioned this week and you’re right, they are pretty great! I have a feeling my RSS feed is going to grow exponentially due to today’s appreciation posts!

  13. Roof Beam Reader says:

    Thanks so much for the shout out! You’ve got one in my post, too (which goes up later, because of the DNS/ISP issues I’m having… but you’ve already heard all about that, this morning. lol).

  14. It is good to find some great blogs via BBAW! I am going to check out a few of those!

    Here is my BBAW: Appreciation post.

  15. Charlie says:

    It is difficult to choose bloggers to highlight, and I like how we’re all putting our own spin on things to make it easier, for example as you have in restricting it to five. I’ve only heard of two out of your five, so I’m going visiting…

  16. therelentlessreader says:

    Oh! In reading your list I’m seeing some that I should have listed as well! There are some great blogs out there, thanks for the reminder!
    The Relentless Reader

  17. Lindsay says:

    I visit Farm Lane Books often and love that blog, but there are several here that I think are new to me, thanks for highlighting them, I am off to visit!
    Lindsay

  18. I think you’ve chosen a lovely group of blogs to spotlight, some I know, some I don’t!

  19. i only know adam\s blog and book’d out . love find new blogs

  20. Sandra says:

    Happy to say that I’ve followed Farm Lane, Roof Beam, Bibliosue, and you for a long time now and I certainly agree that they’re worth reading. I read and report on all English language book awards lists, but Jackie is brave enough to even guess at which books may be nominated, something I always look forward to reading. Adam is always very enthusiastic about what he reads and he reads a wider variety of genres than most men I know. Suzanne (a fellow Canadian) reads many of the same books that I do and I enjoy her thoughts on them. Under My Apple Tree and Book’d Out are new to me, I’m on my way there to investigate now.

  21. alexia561 says:

    These are all new to me blogs, so looking forward to checking them out!

  22. Angie says:

    As soon as you mentioned Under the Apple Tree is a birder I was in!! I am an aspiring birder and just went on my first trip with the Audubon Society! So thanks for introducing me to that blog!!
    Here is my list!

  23. Kristen M. says:

    Some fantastic choices! I love the joy in all of the posts today. It makes me happy to be part of this community (which I think is the whole point, right?). Have a wonderful week!

  24. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Thanks for the mention Judith! i didn’t have the time to participate in BBAW this year but I am grateful for it because its how we ‘met’

  25. That’s a nice list – I’m off to explore!

  26. Leslie says:

    Thanks for the mention! And yes, there are birds on the blog every Saturday.

    BBAW sort of snuck up on me this week and I didn’t have time to participate. It figures I’d have a busy week when there was fun to be had in the blogging world. I’m barely keeping up with the read-alongs, reviews and now some fun with the RIP Event. I tend to over schedule myself!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I forgot about BBAW also until the last moment. Luckily, I’ve been able to contribute.

      Sounds like you are having a very busy week! Hopefully busy in a good way.

  27. Another couple of interesting blogs added to my reader! There are so many lovely, creative people out there, what a lovely thought!

  28. cbjamess says:

    I’m only now getting around to reading all the BBAw posts out there. Should keep me busy on a Sunday morning. I already read some of the blogs you mention, but I’ll take a look at the others too. Always good to find a few new voices.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.