Ugly Covers Competition – Week 6

Ugly Covers Competition at Leeswammes' Blog

It’s week 6 of the Ugly Covers Competition! Did you enjoy last week’s covers? If this is the first you hear about it, you are very welcome to join in the fun! This is the last week that I’m presenting you with new covers. Next week, you can choose the ugliest of the winning covers from week 1 to 6.

Presenting: 6 ugly covers!

Here is how it works:

  1. A number of my blog readers have sent in pictures of ugly covers (thanks!).
  2. 6 of these are presented here today.
  3. Choose the cover you find most ugly (cover 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6).
  4. Fill out the form.

Below the form is information about the books and the people that submitted them, as well as some further information about the competition.

Covers 1, 2, and 3:

Cover1Cover 2Cover 3

Covers 4, 5, and 6:

Cover 4Cover 5Cover 6

Remember the cover number and fill out this FORM to cast your vote. (You can hover over the book covers to see their cover number).

Further information about the books

Cover 1 – The Magus by John Fowles Sent in by Mrs. B of The Literary Stew. She says: “This is one of my favorite books. I think this is the film tie-in edition. I’ve never seen the movie but I heard it’s pretty bad.”

Cover 2 – Against that Day by Rae Simon. Sent in by Lena of Lena Sledge’s Blog. She hasn’t read it.

Cover 3 – The Human Race by O. C. Heaton. Sent in by Leeswammes (me!). I mentioned this book in my TBR Slash post last week and commenters insisted it was ugly enough for the Ugly Books Competition. So here.

Cover 4 – Mysery by Stephen King. Sent in by Katie of Katie’s Book Blog. She says: “I had to read it for a literature class and actually found it a lot better than I was expecting, if rather disturbing. (3.5 – 4 stars)”

Cover 5 – The Great Gatsby by F. Scott FitzGerald. Sent in by Sarah of Sarah Reads Too Much. She loves the book but not the cover.

Cover 6 – Opzij! by Cathy Kelly. Sent in by Katrien of Boeklover. She liked the book but didn’t think the cover was a good fit at all.

Thanks for your contributions, everyone!

Last week: The results!

Covers 1, 2, and 3:

Cover1Cover2Cover3

Cover 1 – 11 votes
Cover 2 – 1 votes
Cover 3 – 0 votes

Covers 4, 5, and 6:

Cover4Cover5Cover6

Cover 4 – 4 votes
Cover 5 – 19 votes  → Winner! This book is going through to the finals.
Cover 6 – 5 votes

Further information about the competition

Each week for 6 weeks, I will show you 6 covers and you have to choose the ugliest one. Every week there will be one winning cover (in case of a draw, I will have the final say). The seventh week, we’ll have the 6 winning covers back, and the most ugly, absolutely impossibly awful cover will win the competition. This book will have the questionable honor of being the ugliest book we know of.

Your task is to vote for the ugliest cover each week. Of all participants who chose the final, winning, cover in one of the first 6 rounds, one will win a book of their choice. Hopefully one of the books displayed will suit you (an awful cover doesn’t mean an awful book), and otherwise, you can choose any other book from the Book Depository (or other solution if the BD doesn’t deliver in your country) up to a maximum value.


Do fill out the form! Anyone can enter!

Psst! Is there a cover here that you secretly like?

PS… Advertisement: Do you know about the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (October 15-19)? I’m looking for people who would like  to give away a book to their blog readers and link up with other giveaway blogs.

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

15 Responses to Ugly Covers Competition – Week 6

  1. Birgit says:

    This week is tough … those are all pretty😉 awful covers …

  2. I love Ugly Covers day – I got all excited when I saw the email in my inbox for this post!🙂

  3. Kristi says:

    There are a couple of floating heads on cover 2!

  4. Nadine Nys says:

    Number 3, without a doubt…

  5. Sabrina says:

    Number 2 is horrible!

  6. Erika says:

    Oh how horrible it must be for any author who encounters their own book in this competition! That cover of Abarat was truly horrible though. This week was indeed really difficult to choose from. In the end I just picked the one I couldn’t stop staring at. What is worse than an ugly cover that keeps drawing your eye in anyways ;P

    • Leeswammes says:

      Erika, I wasn’t sure running the Ugly Covers Competition would be insulting to authors. But so far, I only had one positive author reaction. I think most authors will have cottoned on by now that their choice of cover wasn’t a success. We’re likely not the first people to mention it’s ugly!

      • Erika says:

        That’s great. I hope it brings some of the lesser knowns some more attention too. Even if the cover isn’t so pretty, alot of people are able to look past that🙂

  7. #2 – It’s not entirely clear if the man is clinging to a tree branch…or plotting to use a boomerang as a weapon. Hrmmmm…

  8. Well, I won´t say any of those covers are pretty, but no 3 is the only one that is really ugly in my opinion.

    And with regard to what Erika says, it may offend self-published authors, but I don´t think traditional author had much say over their covers a couple of years back so a comment on their covers is not personal in the same way as if you slaughter the content😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      I think you’re right, Dorte. Traditional authors won’t have much to say about their cover, especially not if it’s their so-maniest reprint (which I think some of the books are).

  9. Kinna says:

    #2 and #3 are truly ugly.

  10. tanabata says:

    So many ugly covers!!!

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

