Armchair BEA – Day 2: Genre Fiction

Armchair BEA

Armchair BEA is for those people who cannot visit Book Expo America but still want to join in the fun. This week, May 28th to June 2nd, there are celebrations for those who stay at home rather than make it to New York. Look out for a new post every day from me!

Today, Wednesday, is about genre fiction: What draws you to a specific genre?  Do vampires, zombies, or witches float your boat?  Or, do you prefer the heat of romance?

I’m primarily a contemporary fiction reader, but I love a good thriller or chick-lit too. And historical fiction, yum! But what I really want to talk about here, is post-apocalyptic fiction and dystopian fiction.

In post-apocalyptic fiction, something bad has happened to the world, like an earthquake, or an invasion of vampires. In dystopian fiction, the post-apocalyptic world is run in a way that doesn’t suit all its inhabitants. Life is not fair and some people will try and fight the authorities.

I love those kind of books. Many authors have great ideas about what would happen to the world in the case of a catastrophe and if thought through properly, this will lead to interesting reading. I am not particularly interested in vampires, but if need be, like in The Passage by Justin Cronin, I can handle them in a post-apocalyptic setting quite nicely.

There are many dystopian books, and HERE is a list I made (with adult – as opposed to YA – books for dystopian readers). Would you like some recommendations? Well, you could do worse than reading these books!

The Passage by Justin Cronin

The Passage by Justin Cronin. I’m not a vampire girl, but I loved this book! It describes how after a medical accident, a group of infected people escape a lab, and have become, in essence, vampires. The rest of the population runs, and a group of them manages to survive. Here’s my review.

Genus by Jonathan Trigell

Genus by Jonathan Trigell. A very different kind of novel. It’s about genetic selection where “improved” people run the world and have all the nice jobs. Here’s my review.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. My FAVORITE book of 2012 – brilliant, brilliant! People live their life mostly within an online system, OASIS. A young man tries to win a big prize hidden within the system, by fighting off a large and rich organisation that is also after the prize. Here’s my review.

The Crysalids by John Wyndham

The Crysalids by John Wyndham. Not meant as YA, I think this book will do very well among the modern YA dystopian novels, although this one is from 1955. It reminded me of The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness. Hundreds of years after an apocalypse, anything living that is not perfect is destroyed. Then a girl with 12 toes and a telepathic boy meet and run away from the society that will kill them if they find out about their abnormalities. Here’s my review.

Do you like post-apocalyptic or dystopian novels? 

I’m curious!🙂

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

23 Responses to Armchair BEA – Day 2: Genre Fiction

  1. This is why I have to stop looking at other sites – I already have such a huge TBR list and have now added some more…thanks a lot, lol! Seriously, great post! My post is here http://imshelfish.blogspot.com/2013/05/genre-fiction-its-my-thing.html

  2. heather says:

    Ready Player One is one of my all time favorites. I was an 80s kid so everything was so familiar to me. I actually screamed out loud when the scene with the Joust video game came up. I loved that game on my Atari.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Heather, I’m more like a 60s/70s kid but I remember the up and coming computer games of the 80s. I actually liked best the scene where he has to speak out one of the character’s text of a Monty Python movie. Without mistakes. And he does it. What a nerd!🙂

  3. I’ve recently finished The Passage (and my review went up today) Genus sounds like my type of read, I’ll check it out. Thanks for the recommendation🙂

    Development + Fiction – Mel@thedailyprophecy.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I’ll check your review of The Passage. How nice you’ve just read it. I’m going on holiday soon and plan to bring with me the sequel, The Twelve.

  4. I rarely read post-apocalyptic or dystopian, but I’m picky and when I read one, I usually love it, for instance Oryx and Crake, and most recently The Age of Miracles: http://wordsandpeace.com/2012/07/09/2012-33-review-the-age-of-miracles/. I also read. But I read The Best Of All Possible Worlds [http://wordsandpeace.com/2013/04/03/book-review-the-best-of-all-possible-worlds/] and didn’t understand a thing I’m afraid.
    I just finished listening to Ready Player One, finally, OMG, the best audio EVER!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      WordsAndPeace, I almost mentioned Oryz and Crake, yes, that’s a really good one. The last in that series is coming out – looking forward to it! I liked, not loved The Age of Miracles. Must check out the other one – I don’t know it.

      • I like Atwood’s writing itself but the content itself is always a bit too depressing for me, so I think I’m going to pass on her latest

  5. I enjoy dystopian fiction, especially some of the ones you’ve mentioned by Margaret Atwood and Hillary Jordan (When She Woke).

    I’m going to check out some others on your list. Thanks!

    Here’s MY ARMCHAIR BEA POST

  6. I have had The Passage on my nook for about 2 years, one of these days I’ll get around to reading it.

    http://www.ManOfLaBook.com

  7. I was a HUGE fan of The Passage. And sadly, I haven’t read The Twelve yet, though it is currently out from the library and sitting on my side table in the living room.

    I also have Ready Player One on my shelves and really need to get to it. I’ve met the author but haven’t read the book. Oops!

  8. Pingback: Armchair BEA-Genre Fiction | Books in the Burbs

  9. Leslie says:

    I’m an eclectic reader but if forced to choose I’d go for the scifi/spec/dystopian book every time. I have a copy of The Passage, but it’s such a large book I’d need two weeks to read it!

  10. bibliosue says:

    I’m not much into dystopic fiction at all, yet The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood is one of my all time favorite novels.
    I started The Passage not long after it was released but didn’t get too far before I had to put it aside for something else. I suppose one day I will get back to it …..

  11. ablightedone says:

    I like post-apocolyptic and dystopian! I’ve been meaning to read Ready Player One for a while! I’ve mainly read YA dystopia but I’m interested in reading more!

  12. The only one I don’t have/haven’t read is Genus, and I love the sound of it. *sigh* wish I could afford to buy it!

  13. I haven’t read any of these.😦 I have had my eye on Ready Player One for a long time, though.

  14. Athira says:

    Dystopian books are so much fun to read. I can never tire of them.

  15. Leanne Yang says:

    I love contemporary fiction as well, but it’s hard to find a really amazing one. Since I’m sort of in the “YA” age group, when books are done in a certain way in which I can connect to, I bawl my eyes out. And that’s what I sort of look for in a book!🙂

    Leanne @ Escaping With Books

  16. melissa says:

    The Passage looks interesting, I like vampire books but I am not usually an apocalyptic/post-apocalyptic reader. I prefer historical fiction.

  17. Pingback: The Shelves Are Groaning – XIV/06 | Giraffe Days

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

