Weekly Reading Roundup

The week

I read a lot last week because there was a Dutch reading marathon (6 days) in which I read 4 books, plus half of another short book. It does mean I need to write a lot of reviews!

It’s been very hot here (it has been for weeks, which is really odd in the Netherlands, where the weather usually chances every few days). It was great for sitting in the shade, reading, when I wasn’t working or shopping, etc.

Books I finished in the last week: 5

Killer Queens by Rebecca ChanceDe boer op by Irene van AartMe Before You by Jojo MoyesAfterwards by Rosamund LuptonDe verdwijners by Niels 't Hooft

.

Killer Queens by Rebecca Chance. Chicklit about two commoners who both marry royalty. 4.5 stars

De boer op [To the Farmer] by Irene van Aart [Dutch]. Memoir about a city girl falling in love with a farmer. 5 stars

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. Chicklit about a young woman taking a job looking after a paraplegic man who has lost all will to live. 5 stars

Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton. Mystery about two women who are in a coma after they got caught in a school fire. 4.5 stars

De verdwijners [The Diasppearers] by Niels ‘t Hooft [Dutch]. Dystopian novel about a small group of street interviewers who offer people a way out of their boring existence. 4 stars

Books I’m reading & planning to read

Tulipomania by Mike DashFondly by Colin WinnetteHet reservaat by Liselotte StavorniusTongue by Kyung Ran Jo

Reviews

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper LeeThe Twin by Gerbrand Bakker

 

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Classic about a girl growing up in Alabama in the 1930s. 5 stars

Boven is het stil [The Twin] by Gerbrand Bakker. Contemporary fiction about a farmer who lives with his old father on a farm that he never wanted to run. 5 stars

And also…

Here is my July overview.

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

12 Responses to Weekly Reading Roundup

  1. You had a terrific week Judith. Hope this week brings more good reads.

  2. harvee says:

    I really want to read Me Before You. Nice set of books!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Harvee, Me Before You is a book that I’ve been trying to get for review from the American and UK publishers, and eventually got offered by the Dutch publishers. Lucky me! It’s a great read.

  3. Charlie says:

    It seems July was great for us readers but not so much for others with all the heat! 4 books in 6 days is awesome 🙂

  4. It is way to warm! Yay for getting to your leesmarathon goals.
    I am curious about Tulipomania.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Tulipomania was a great book, Ciska. It’s non-fiction about the tulip craze in the 17th Century in the Netherlands when bulbs were sold for 10s of thousand of guilders (roughly equivalent to dollars, for my US readers). I love to read about that era and this was very interesting.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    What a great week for you.

    I am always so amazed how folks read so many books in one week. 🙂

    ENJOY your week this week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

  6. Athira says:

    I hope to read Me Before You – I gave it a try once and couldn’t get into it. Hopefully the second time is the right time.

  7. mpartyka says:

    Great week of reading but all 4+ stars makes it even better!

    I need to add Me Before You to my list. I hope you are having a nice summer, getting time to relax and that the new business is going well.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.