Book Review: Day of the Vikings by J.F. Penn

Day of the Vikings by J. F. PennDay of the Vikings: What it is about

From goodreads: “A ritual murder on a remote island under the shifting skies of the aurora borealis.
A staff of power that can summon Ragnarok, the Viking apocalypse.

When Neo-Viking terrorists invade the British Museum in London to reclaim the staff of Skara Brae, ARKANE agent Dr. Morgan Sierra is trapped in the building along with hostages under mortal threat.

As the slaughter begins, Morgan works alongside psychic Blake Daniel to discern the past of the staff, dating back to islands invaded by the Vikings generations ago.

Can Morgan and Blake uncover the truth before Ragnarok is unleashed, consuming all in its wake?

Day of the Vikings is a fast-paced, action adventure thriller set in the British Museum, the British Library and the islands of Orkney, Lindisfarne and Iona. Set in the present day, it resonates with the history and myth of the Vikings.

Day of the Vikings features Dr. Morgan Sierra from the ARKANE thrillers, and Blake Daniel from the London Mysteries, but it is also a stand-alone novella that can be read and enjoyed separately.”

Day of the Vikings: What I thought

This is a (long) short story, part of a series of thrillers. It didn’t matter that I hadn’t read the other books; it didn’t feel as if I was missing something.  The story was a cross between Dan Brown’s modern people looking into the history of some secret sect and the Canadian TV series The Vikings. I actually know the horific  Blood Eagle procedure from that series, so I could imagine it all too lively.

A fast-paced and fun read, although one particular ritual was repeated three times. That was a little too much. One of the characters could actually go back in time, in his mind. Now, I would love to do that, it so appeals to me!

I’m not a keen reader of short stories and think I would love this book better as a full-blown novel. The main characters are great people to spend some time with and I love stories about Nordic countries in general. This story actually played in the UK, partially in the British Museum and partially in the Orkneys (two of those must-visit places).

If the topic interests you, this is worth a read. It’s well-written, too!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars (good)

Number of pages: 77

First published: 2014

I got this: for review from the author

Genre: historical fiction,

 

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

2 Responses to Book Review: Day of the Vikings by J.F. Penn

  1. olivier says:

    wow, what a lovely book. i think this book is fantastic because in the past i thought Vikings are cool. i always read story’s about Vikings. most of the story’s were strip books with a lot of pics. i also saw in the past cartoons about vikings. i think it is a very cool item to write about. it also is an item with a lot of history, so there is much to tell. i have to post a reaction for my school. i think is fun to write a reaction about a item i road on the internet. i hope you’re glad witch my reaction.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

