It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

Blogging-wise, last week was busy: It was BBAW week (Book Bloggers Appreciation Week), a chance to tell your readers about yourself, to make new book blogger friends and be part of the book blogger community. It was great, but a bit hectic.

Wednesday, my country voted for a new government. As we have many parties, no one party is ever the biggest, but this time it was a close run between two parties. Neither has enough votes to work on their own so they have to form alliances with some other party/parties. A four-party government isn’t unheard of in the Netherlands! Nothing is decided yet. It can take months!

I find voting so terribly low-key: you go to a school or other public building. Some booths have been set up (for instance in the PE hall). You hand over your card and ID, get a voting form, go into the booth, colour red the dot in front of the person you want to vote for, and hand in your form. Done. No trumpets and cheering. No one saying: “Thank you SO much for your vote!” You just leave the hall and go home again.

Very nice, though, was the book swap I went to on Saturday. There is an online group of bookish women that talk books via a mailing list. Sometimes they meet up, for instance to swap books. This time it was in my area, and so I went, with 50 books in a suitcase. Another 9 women showed up, with hundreds of books and we had a fun afternoon choosing from the books. The left-over books will go to a community centre. I only took 4 books for myself – but they were books I really, really wanted. See my Dutch blog for some pictures.

*****

Books I finished in the last week: 4

Shelter by Frances GreensladeThe Mall by S. L. GreyNocturnes by Kazuo IshiguroHope: A Tragedy by Shalom Auslander

Click on the blue links to see the review

Shelter by Frances Greenslade. The life of two sisters is turned upside down when their father dies. Their mother doesn’t know how to cope and abandons them with another couple. 4.5 stars Contemporary Fiction

The Mall by S. L. Grey. A woman out shopping in a South African mall discovers the boy she’s looking after has run off. She forces a bookshop employee to help her find him back and they end up in an alternate mall, where they are characters in a game. 4.5 stars Science Fiction

Nocturnes by Kazuo Ishiguro. Five short stories, beautifully written. 4 stars

Hope: A Tragedy by Shalom Auslander. A Jewish family move houses and find that Anne Frank has survived WWII and is living in their attic. She’s not welcome, but how can a Jew throw out Anne Frank? 4.5 stars

.

Books I’m reading and planning to read

San Miguel by T. C. BoyleThe Miracle Inspector by Helen SmithA Hologram for the King by Dave Eggers

.

Reviews

The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin. In the late 19th Century an older man farming an orchard is visited by two pregnant girls who do not want to leave again. He takes care of them, and their offspring. 4.5 stars

The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin

Also check out

I took part in the Book Bloggers Appreciation Week last week. I wrote five posts: Appreciate (other bloggers); Interview Swap (with Teresa of Teresa’s Reading Corner); What Book Blogging Means to Me; A Book that I Love; The End (roundup of the week).

*****

That’s it!

What are you reading this week?

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

37 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    is voting compulsory in The Netherlands Judith? It is here for any one over 18, but I know in many countries it isn’t.

    San Miguel arrived on my doorstep on Friday.

    Enjoy your reads this week,
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shelleyrae, no, voting is not compulsory. I guess I should be very happy that I am allowed to vote, that I’m not in a country where people don’t vote, women don’t vote or where you’re forced to vote in a certain way. Even so, I always find it too low-key.

      Hope you’ll enjoy San Miguel! I’ve started it and love it so far. Reminiscent of The Light Between the Oceans, but then with a few more people on an island.

  2. The politics of the Netherlands actually sounds pretty intriguing to me – can’t imagine so many political parties vying to be tops! But I get what you mean about the voting process – at least they should have a food buffet for afterwards 🙂

  3. lindyloumacinitaly says:

    I am reading A Lovely Indecent Departure by Steven Lee Gilbert a début literary thriller, just fifty pages in but I think this is going to be a page turner.

  4. I’m reading The Geneva Trap by Stella Rimington. I am very tempted to buy a couple more of her books…
    San Miguel looks like something I’d enjoy, hoping I’ll see it soon.

  5. bibliosue says:

    I think having four parties govern the country would be wonderful — then there would be compromise and things would get done — unlike here in the U.S.
    I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Hope:A Tragedy. Anne Frank is someone who has fascinated me since I was young and I will read anything about her, but this book I was not too sure about.

  6. Shan says:

    We’ve had a similar situation over here, four elections in 8 years. The last election we finally got a majority government in power, with one party losing most of their seats. I don’t know your personal feeling about politics but you seem to have gotten a fair result (as best as one can tell when they’re not living in the country but somewhat following the politics, I’m sure my grandmother will give me the full details soon as she fully follows it!)

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shan, I’m a bit of a sceptic and don’t think it make too much difference what I vote because you never know wether that party will actually be in the government – there may be alliances between other parties that means leaving *my* party out, so really, you don’t know what you’re voting for – just what you hope will be a good vote.

  7. I like the sound of Shelter….hope you have a great week, and enjoy! Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  8. Hope : A Tragedy sounds interesting – did you like it?

    Happy reading!! Whatcha readin’ this week @ the Brunette Librarian 🙂

  9. I can’t seem to stay away from Japanese literature, so I am reading Murakami’s What I talk about when I talk about running! I love it! 🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      I haven’t read that yet, Ally, but it’s on my list. I am a bit of a Murakami fan.

      • I am a big Murakami fan. You know there is a Murakami challenge I have joined. My goal is to read three books of his this year. I am halfway through 1q84, I will finish this one and I may start Kafka on the shore, but I am not sure about that…

      • Leeswammes says:

        Ally, I tried the Murakami challenge before, I think, and I just fail at these things because my reading schedule is very tight. I hope you manage three books. 1Q84 is one I do want to read, but when? 🙂

        I loved *Kafka on the Shore!*

  10. Nise' says:

    Shelter sounds like my kind of book. I will be on the look out for it here. We vote in 7 weeks, I am so tired of all the ads on the TV.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Nise’, I am not much into politics, so I tried to avoid it mostly. We don’t have political adds on tv – maybe it’s not allowed, I don’t now. We do have a 20min/30min slot on tv every week where a political party can have its say (they alternate). A we have politicians coming to news shows, talk shows and anywhere they can be seen!

  11. Chinoiseries says:

    It was quite an eventful week, wasn’t it? 🙂 According to the news, the two largest political parties were getting along quite nicely. Hopefully, they won’t take too much time forming putting a new government together.
    I really like the covers of your incoming books!

  12. I’d love to read Ishiguro’s book, he writes so well!

    I did hear a little about the Netherlands election on CBC radio the other day. They basically said that the extremist party didn’t win; beyond that I have no idea!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Shannon, I agree, Ishiguro is a brilliant writer.

      Ha, funny! Foreign media only care about that one party, that “extremist” party. Well, luckily we have many other, better parties. That particular party lost half its votes compared to last time. So I’m not sure they’ll be around in the long run.

  13. I haven’t read Nocturnes – short stories are not my thing -, but I love Ishiguro Kazuo.
    And The Miracle Inspector looks really interesting. *adding it to my tbr*

    Happy reading! 🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      I am not a short story reader, either, Cayce. But these stories by Ishiguro were mostly enjoyable – they were quite long so the story had enough time to build up properly.

  14. yvonne473 says:

    You had a great week! Hope you have another one!

  15. Athira says:

    I like the sound of The Mall! I will be looking for your review.

  16. Leslie says:

    Aren’t politics fun? Not. We have our big election coming up in November.

    I haven’t read any of these yet. The Orchardist is one of my upcoming audiobooks. I have a backlog of about 20 audios now. I was doing so well keeping up with them too. Must garden more! lol

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, no, I’m not a fan of politics either. Well, I’m not a fan of disagreements and discussions, and that’s what you get in the run up to elections.

      I saw that you got a whole pile of audiobooks. Hope they are good. Yes, more gardening is the solution!

  17. Mystica says:

    Such a nice mix of reads! enjoy them all.

  18. storytimebooks says:

    Wow, it sounds like you were pretty busy last week. We’ll be doing the same thing in November for the Presidential election. I’m currently reading a TON of children’s books for my blog, but it’s fun. Too bad I don’t have any children yet to read them too. haha.

I love comments! Let me know what you think.