Announcing the Ugly Covers Competition!

Ugly Covers Competition at Leeswammes' Blog

A new competition

Time for a new competition! The Back of the Book Competition was very popular, but has now come to an end. So, it’s time for something new.

Inspired by a recent book I read and by the Atrocious Covers Challenge run by Pink Sheep Cafe, as well as a comment from Cindy, I decided we should try and find the ugliest book cover around!

That could still be a wonderful book, actually, as was the case with the book I read recently. Are you going to help out? I need some covers first and then later I need your votes.

When I was asking around earlier, only a few people managed to come up with an ugly cover. Well, I found 6 on my book shelves, two very ugly and the rest passable only if you half-close your eyes. So, let me have your ugly covers so that we can start the game!

How it’s played

I need 25 ugly covers to start the game. Please dig deep on your shelves and get out those covers that are really bad, ugly, past it, abominable, with clashing colors or eye-aching designs.

Each week for 5 weeks, I will show you 5 covers and you have to choose the ugliest one. Every week there will be one winning cover (in case of a draw, I will have the final say). The sixth week, we’ll have the 5 winning covers back, and the most ugly, absolutely impossibly awful cover, will win the competition.

Your task is to vote for the ugliest cover each week. Of all participants who chose the final, winning, cover in one of the first 5 rounds, one will win a book of their choice. Hopefully one of the books displayed will suit you (an awful cover doesn’t mean an awful book), and otherwise, you can choose any other book from the Book Depository (or other solution if the BD doesn’t deliver in your country) up to a maximum value.

What I’m asking of you

Please supply me with the most ugly covers on your shelf! Also tell me whether you have read it, an if so, what star rating you’d give the book (approx.).

As soon as I have enough covers, we can start. I expect this will be the first week of September, but please send me your covers before you forget!

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

44 Responses to Announcing the Ugly Covers Competition!

  1. Novroz says:

    Ah…I have to send you my cover a.s.a.p then

  2. Novroz says:

    Do I have to give explanation why it is ugly?

  3. Cindy says:

    Oh I am looking forward to seeing the contributions🙂

  4. Birgit says:

    This should be fun … now to find some uglies on my shelves …

  5. Rikki says:

    I’ll see what I can find. That Asylum cover I find not so much ugly (that, too, but not THAT bad) but rather disturbing and depressing…
    I am sure we have plenty of ugly covers, especially older ones….

  6. Pingback: Rikki's Teleidoscope » Ugly covers anyone?

  7. This is fun! Now I need to raid my shelves for ugly books – unfortunately I am really funny about ugly book covers and if I see a really ugly cover in a shop I probably won’t buy it in the first place (covers are important – what if someone sees me with an ugly book? ;))

    • Leeswammes says:

      I think covers are important too, Boof. I don’t often buy books with ugly covers. But even so, I found a few on my shelves. Have fun rummaging – hope you find a few good ones!

  8. Louise says:

    Now to mooch my shelves…great competition Judith😉

  9. This sounds like a fun idea. I will check my shelves this weekend.

  10. Erika says:

    I have at least two ugly covers. I just have to photograph them (I think), unless I find their covers online which I haven’t checked yet. Is it okay to do it that way?

  11. Kristi says:

    I love this idea! I don’t know if I have many ugly ones on my personal shelves (but I’ll check), though I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone sends in. There really are some ugly ones out there!

  12. Suzanne says:

    Tonight’s project — finding ugly covers on my bookshelf!

  13. This sounds fun. How do you want us to send the covers, Judith. I have one in mind!

  14. Done!

    So this time I can play along with a good conscience🙂

  15. This is going to be fun! I have major issues with cover art. I go out of my way to only purchase the edition of a book that has the cover I like.

  16. Leslie says:

    I’ll look and see if I have anything truly atrocious. I tend to buy pretty covers… can’t be seen with an ugly book!🙂 Do ARCs count too or only published copies?

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, I think published covers as they are books that everyone may come across. Hadn’t thought about ARCs. I agree, when I have a not-so-good cover, I keep my book low in public. When it’s a great cover, I hide behind the book (holding it up) so everyone can see the beautiful cover.🙂

  17. Nadine Nys says:

    I have been looking at my books, and I cannot seem to find one ugly book cover. I know I try to avoid ugly book covers, but I did think I had one or two. But I will keep looking, Judith!

  18. cbjames says:

    This is a fun idea. If I don’t forget, which I probably will, alas, I’ll see if I can send a few in.

  19. Nish says:

    I don’t have any covers for you. But I’d love to see the results posted here😀 . What a fun competition.

  20. Parrish says:

    http://www1.alibris-static.com/isbn/9780743248389.gif hopefully this should take you to Neil Astley’s The End Of My Tether

    • Leeswammes says:

      Nice cover!

      Seriously, don’t mind it. But if you find it ugly, you’re not going to be the only one.

      I’d love to know whether you’ve read it and what you thought of it (good, bad, 3/5, something like that).

      Thanks very much for the cover!

      Judith

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

