Book Review: Now You See Me by S. J. Bolton

Now You See Me by S. J. BoltonThis is the third book (of four) that I’ve read by this author. The other two are Sacrifice and Awakening (click on the titles to see my reviews). Now You See Me is darker than the other two books, but also the better story of the three. Since writing this review, I read Dead Scared.

The other two books were about nice women living in nice, cosy villages whereas Now You See Me is about a tough-woman police officer working in London.

I very much enjoyed this book and I think it’s a high-quality thriller- Sharon Bolton has made it onto my list of Best Thriller Writers!

Now You See Me: What it is about

Lacey Flint is a policewoman in her late twenties who finds herself out on the street one night with another woman dying in her arms, a stab victim. Soon, it becomes clear that she is a Jack the Ripper copy-cat victim and that more deaths are to be expected.

Not only that, but the killer has a special focus on Lacey and she happens to be present whenever a new body is found. She becomes worried that she will be seen as a suspect herself.

Lacey and her team are running after the facts, until they can find a way to outwit the murderer. But how many more women will die before that happens?

Now You See Me: What I thought

I thought I’d had my fill of tough women protagonists, but Lacey was a very acceptable tough cookie with a past. A past that we find out about bit by bit.

Her direct antagonist was a police officer called Mark Joesbury who hated her as much as she hated him, until their hate turned into something else. He was an interesting character, and I would have liked to know a bit more about him.

The story was build up very well and it was watertight. It was interesting how Lacey compared the murders with the Jack the Ripper story and how she and the other police officers reasoned to try and predict what the killer was going to do next.

There are some revelations at the very end of the book that I could have done without as they didn’t add anything to a fine story.

A really good read that I absolutely recommend to anyone who enjoys reading thrillers.

Rating: 5/5

I got this book: through a twitter giveaway by the author

I read this in: English, the original language

Number of pages: 400

First published: 2011

Genre: thriller

Extra: I nominated this book for the Indie Lit Awards in the Mystery genre. Have you nominated your favorite books of 2011 yet?

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

13 Responses to Book Review: Now You See Me by S. J. Bolton

  1. BookGoddess says:

    Sounds good… have to remember that to put on the list

  2. Hurray! I’m so glad you loved this and that the author is on your list of top thriller writers (mine too). Isn’t it a great book? There is a new one coming out in May, I believe, with Lacey and Mark in too.

    PS/ Judith, I have been tearing my hair out with WP recently as all the blogs I subscribe too stopped sending me email reminders. I have just realised that it is because they are all going into my spam folder now for some reason. At least if I keep checking that I won’t miss anymore of your posts!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Yes, great book, Boof.

      I have no problems with WP subscriptions – do check your settings. At least in the spam folder they’re not totally lost, but it is awkward.

  3. Nadine Nys says:

    I like thrillers and I haven’t read anything by Bolton, so…. Time I give this author a try.
    Thanks for your review, Judith.

  4. Trisha says:

    Jack the Ripper just keeps coming up in my own reading and reviews from bloggers! It’s strange how something so specific can continuously pop up! Just a side note… 🙂

  5. Cindy says:

    Sounds gripping, Judith!

  6. Pingback: Now You See Me – S J Bolton | Novel Heights

  7. Pingback: Now You See Me by S.J. Bolton #BookReview | Joy's Book Blog

  8. Pingback: Read: Daisy in Chains by Sharon Bolton | Leeswammes' Blog

I love comments! Let me know what you think.