It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?


itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what you’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

*****

I read 6 books in the last week

Some short ones (one very short one) and one I gave up on after 200 pages. I’m playing a game with one of the groups on Shelfari, and that started Saturday. I hope to keep reading a lot, I’m in a winning mood!🙂

Vanished by Liza MarklundThe Finkler Question by Howard JacobsonOf Mice and Men by John Steinbeck
The End of Alice by A.M. HomesDe camping [The Camping] by Karin KuipersVette pech by Larissa Verhoeff

Vanished by Liza Marklund. Murders at Stockholm’s port, and one surviving woman. Journalist Annika Bengtzon investigates and gets into dangerous situations. 4.5/5

The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson (Not finished). A man with Jewish friends considers becoming Jewish himself. 2/5

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. One of two laborers who travel together, always gets into trouble because of him limited intellectual capabilities. 5/5

The End of Alice by A. M. Homes. A paedophile in prison fantasises about a female paedophile that he corresponds with. 4/5

De camping [The Camping] by Karin Kuiper. At a camping in France, Dutch-owned with mainly Dutch guests, the owners are struggling more and more with keeping the camping and their marriage running. 3.5/5

Vette pech [Fat Luck] by Larissa Verhoeff. Memoir about a woman of size who tries to lose some kilos. 4/5

Currently Reading

11/22/63 by Stephen KingLife's a Beach by Claire Cook

11/22/64 by Stephen King. A man goes back in time to try and prevent the Kennedy assassination. I’m reading this as a judge for the Indie Lit Awards

Life’s a Beach by Claire Cook. No idea yet, just started. I’m reading this for the game on Shelfari (3rd book since Saturday).

Other news

Click on the orange links to go to the blog post.

**** Giveaway! For one US reader I’ve got a copy of The Discovery of Jeanne Baret. Check HERE to enter the giveaway. ****

Here is the shortlist for the Speculative Fiction genre (that I’ll be judging for) for the Indie Lit Awards.

Reviews: 

The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis RidleyThe Starlite Drive-in by Marjorie ReynoldsThe Rise and Fall of a Domestic Diva by Sarah May

The Discovery of Jeanne Baret by Glynis Ridley. A woman travels around the world dressed as a man, in the 1760s. She is the assistant of a botanist, who voyages by ship for two years trying to discover new plants in the many exotic countries they pass. 5/5 (giveaway)

The Starlite Drive-in by Marjorie Reynolds. 1950s USA, a 12-year old girl falls in love with a man that comes to work for her father. But he is more interested in her mother. 5/5

The Rise and Fall of a  Domestic Diva by Sarah May. Several families in the same street in London all have similar issues to deal with: how to get their children into the top school in the neighbourhood, how to pretend to have more money than they really have (so they can buy the same brands as the neighbours) and how to keep their marriage together. 4/5

*****

That’s it! What are YOU reading this week?

About Leeswammes
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com. In my free time, I read and review books on my two blogs, Leeswammes' Blog and De Boekblogger.

53 Responses to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Stephanie says:

    The End of Alice has possibly the strangest premise I’ve ever heard of!

  2. parrish says:

    Today will start book 3 of 1q84, although I originally bought hardcopies, I’m reading it on my Kindle.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Parrish, with big books like that, the e-reader is such a relief! I’m reading a big, big, copy of the new Stephen King book, and I need a crane to move it from one place in the house to another.

  3. Leslie says:

    I hope you’re enjoying the Stephen King book. As I’ve said, I loved it.

    The End of Alice sounds creepy. Not so creepy that I wouldn’t read it though.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Leslie, unfortunately, I’m not allowed to discuss my Indie Lit Award reads, so I’ll talk about that after the winner has been announced in March.

      *The End of Alice* was creepy, but once I got through the first distasteful bit (when I considered giving up), I was OK. Not that I got used to it, but it was bearable. And it wasn’t like that the whole time, luckily.

  4. I’ve got a review copy of Vanished here and I will be reading it within the next two weeks or so.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I enjoyed it a lot, Marleen. Hope you do too. But if you enjoyed *The Bomber* I think you’ll be fine.

      • Judith, the only other book by Marklund I’ve read is the one she wrote with James Patterson (The Postcard Killer or something like that) which I enjoyed well enough. I do have a copy of Red Wolf by her here but I haven’t read that yet. It does seem to be the sort of book I would enjoy though, so I’m not worried about reading or reviewing it.

  5. I was going to say the same thing as Stephanie – The End of Alice does sound creepy! And how exciting to be judging for the Indie Lit awards – I’ve read a few from the spec. fiction category and want to read the ones I haven’t gotten to yet.

  6. I wish I had 1Q84 on my Kindle. What an enormous book!

    Good luck with all your reading.

    Here is my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? I hope you will stop by!

  7. Joanna says:

    Well done on all the books, Judith. I’m reading the Stephen King book as well at the moment and, at half way through, am really enjoying it. I’m looking forward to your review!

    • Leeswammes says:

      My review of the King book will be in 2 months’ time, Joanna. I’m not allowed to discuss it at the moment. So, looking forward to your review first!🙂

  8. Uniflame says:

    I finished Revealing Eden last night, and I am now reading Papinette. I might also pick up the school of essential ingredients next to Papinette. Not sure yet. I was already glad that I read 4 books in January😉

  9. curlygeek04 says:

    I can’t wait to read the Stephen King book. Hope you enjoy it!

  10. Judith, you had a awesome week for reading! Hope you are enjoying 11/22/63 — loved it.

  11. kristi says:

    We are in sync yet again. I just started reading 11/22/63 a couple of days ago. I’m about 60 or so pages into it. I’m finding it a little slow, but I’m sure it will pick up. I hope you’re enjoying it.

  12. Interesting looking reads Judith – I enjoyed that Claire Cook one last summer.

  13. I see several that intrigue me, like Starlite Drive-in and The Rise and Fall of a Domestic Diva….Loved Life’s a Beach, and 11/22/63 is patiently waiting on my coffee table.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and here’s
    MY WEBSITE

  14. Great reading week for you! I’ve got 11/22/63 waiting for me as well.

  15. dixie says:

    Great reads! One of these days I will read a Liza Marklund book. It looks like you enjoyed it!

  16. Great list of books! Seeing this makes me wish I could read SO much faster! I had an iffy reaction to Of Mice and Men. Well-written, but I also wanted to throw it under a garbage truck.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Andi, I’m a fast reader most of the time, although some more literary books can slow me down a lot. What a pity you didn’t like *Of Mice and Men*. I loved it! I like Steinbeck’s style and topics.

  17. Dollycas says:

    I want to read every book. I am having trouble accessing my shelfari account and it is driving me nuts. All of the sudden my shelf isn’t linked to my Amazon account and it wants me to start over. Waiting patiently for some kind of response.

    Have a great week!!

    • Leeswammes says:

      Dollycas, what a pity about your Shelfari account. Mine wasn’t linked to Amazon because I didn’t want to, but at some point it wouldn’t let me log in anymore if I didn’t. But I haven’t heard of the opposite problem. Hope it gets solved soon. I use Shelfari almost daily myself.

  18. Karen says:

    Good luck with your Indie Lit awards. I do want to read this one by King but have been put off a little because of my disappointment with Under the Dome.

    I love Steinbeck. He was such a talented writer. I think I need to go back and revisit some of his shorter stories.

    • Leeswammes says:

      I recently read Duma Key by King and I was underwhelmed. But that was a ghost-y type story and this is time travelling. I loved The Stand (which is post-apocalyptic) and I think as long as it’s not ghosts etc. I like his work. But we’ll see if that’s also true for 11/22/63.

  19. I am planning on getting round to Vanished this week.

  20. Mystica says:

    You have a nice mixed selection of reads here. Enjoy them all.

  21. I’ve been curious about The Finkler Question, but I know it’s had a lot of very mixed reviews.

    Happy reading this week!

  22. Vasilly says:

    Of Mice and Men is one of my favorite books ever. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on the King book, though I know it won’t be until after the awards are over. Happy reading!

  23. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out says:

    Wow you sure have been busy! Of Mice and Men and Grapes of Wrath were two of my favourite novels I read at school

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  24. Wow, 6! I thought I was good, finishing 3 – well done! A pity that The Finkler Question wasn’t that good.

  25. Roxanne says:

    Vette Pech… daar heb ik toevallig gisteren ook wat over gehoord. Mijn moeder wilde hem gaan kopen want het leek haar wel wat.
    Ik ben helaas nog in hetzelfde boek bezig als vorige week want ik heb weer erg weinig gelezen!

  26. I’m also reading 11/22/63 now and it’s off to a good start. Now I just need time to settle down with it😀

I love comments! Let me know what you think.

