Bolaño 2666 Read-A-Long

Bolaño’s 2666 is a big book! Will you join in a read-a-long and read this book with me and Gnoe at Graasland, Joanna at Ephemeral Digest, and Tanabata at In Spring It Is The Dawn?

You know you want to! It’s a great challenge, as the book is about 900 pages long. This is your chance to share the experience. That’s better than reading it on your own later, isn’t it?

Here is some information on the book (taken from the back of my copy):

Revolving around the border town of Santa Teresa, a vortex for lost souls and the scene of some of the most horrifying crimes in twentieth-century fiction, it defines one of Latin America’s greatest writers and his visionary commitment to narrating the world as he saw it, in terrifying, awe-inspiring, irreducible beauty and despair.

We’ll be reading this book over 12 weeks starting on the 1st of March 2011.

I know that depending on your copy, your page numbers may be different from mine (I’ve got a Picador paperback from 2009). However, each section is divided in a number of weeks (see schedule below). If you divide the number of pages for a section by the number of weeks it’s planned for, you can work out roughly which pages to read each week.

The date behind each entry in the schedule below is the date that we should have finished that part and can start to discuss it.

This is my proposed schedule:

Behind the page numbers is the date that we’ll discuss that particular part. Each week, I will update this list with a link to the discussion post of that week.

Section I The Part About the Critics (2 weeks)

1. Pages 3-79 (77 pages) March 5th

2. Pages 80-159 (79 pages) March 12th

Section II The Part About Amalfitano (1 week)

3. Pages 163-228 (65 pages) March 19th

Section III The Part About Fate (2 weeks)

4.  Pages 231-291 (60 pages) March 26th

5. Pages 292-349 (57 pages) April 2nd

Section IV The Part About the Crimes (4 weeks)

6. Pages 353-424 (71 pages) April 9th

7. Pages 425-496 (71 pages) April 16th

8. Pages 497-568 (71 pages) April 23rd

9. Pages 567-633 (66 pages) April 30st

Section V The Part About Archimboldi (3 weeks)

10. Pages 637-723 (86 pages) May 7th

11. Pages 724-810 (86 pages) May 14th

12. Pages 811-895 (84 pages) May 21st

That’s 12 weeks of fun. At least, let’s hope so. I think the book should give us a lot to discuss.

At the end of each week, I’ll post a summary of what we’ve read, and a few questions. You can discuss the book on my blog in the comments, and/or make your own post about what you’ve been reading (and leave a link on my post for that week).

Don’t feel obliged to post or comment every week! Join in at any time and read the relevant discussion posts when you get to that part of the book.

Joining in?

If you want to join in, just leave your name and blog address in the comments (I may set up a Mr Linky for this, but can enter you myself, if I do).

And for those really keen to read more by Bolano, bolanoreads is doing a more general Bolano challenge that you could combine with the read-a-long.

About Judith
I'm owner and editor at bookhelpline.com and bookhelpline.nl. We edit books and articles for independent writers.

33 Responses to Bolaño 2666 Read-A-Long

  1. Sarah says:

    This one has been on my tbr shelf for a long time.

    http://thebookbee.blogspot.com

    Sarah(thebookbee)

  2. Cindy says:

    I’d love to, but work just doesn’t permit it at the moment 😦

  3. JoV says:

    I do need company for this one, but I’ll be starting my new job next week. I’ll see how it pans out. Tentatively I want to be a part of this.

    Thanks for hosting this!

    • Leeswammes says:

      I hope it works out, Jo. It would be really nice if you could join. We’re reading about 70-80 pages per week, some are less, some a bit more. I don’t think it’s hard to read (but I’, not sure).

  4. Chinoiseries says:

    I’m in 🙂 I ordered the 3 paperback edition, waiting for it to arrive.
    @JoV: a new job (exciting!) is more important of course, but it would be great if you could read along 🙂

    • Leeswammes says:

      Oh, Chinoi, I think you told me on Twitter you were joining in? I forgot to mention you at the top of the post. I’m sorry!

    • JoV says:

      Yes! I agree with you Chinoi. 🙂 If I can read this on the weekends (without the interference of my two under 5’s boys), I am sure I’ll be able to keep up with the schedule.

      There is a 3 paperback edition??! Wow, you have to snap a picture and let me see this!

      Lee, I’ll be checking in closer to time. I do, I do want to read this with all of you.

  5. I cannot join the challenge, but I will be waiting for your comments about the book.

  6. tanabata says:

    Oh no, now you’ve named me at the top of the post, I can’t possibly back down. 😉 Seriously though, I ordered the 3 paperback slipcase edition too. I just hope it arrives in time. Thanks for organizing this as it’s definitely a book I need some mutual encouraging to read.

    • Leeswammes says:

      Well, tanabata, you *did* agree to join in, so I thought, why not mention you? I would love that 3 book set. Mine is one big big book. It’s a paperback and I think it’ll have fallen apart by the time I get to the end.

  7. Well, you already know I’m joining in, but I’d better officially subscribe as well! 🙂

    I’m afraid I’ll get behind pretty quickly but hey, I’ll just tag along! ;P

    • Leeswammes says:

      Just tagging along is the way to get through the book, only a little slower. I know you’re very good at finishing read-a-long books (thinking of *The Pillow Book* here) so I’m sure you’ll tackle this monster!

  8. Laura says:

    I would love to join. I’ve read the first two parts, but it has been too long and I need to reread them before the third.

    http://hawthornescarlet.blogspot.com

  9. Richard says:

    I read 2666 as part of another readalong a couple of years ago, Leeswammes. You are all in store for a fantastic read!

  10. Nadine Nys says:

    I just ordered 2666 with BookDeposit, so you can count me in…

  11. Pingback: It’s a Wrap: February 2011 « Bibliojunkie

  12. Pingback: 2666 Read-A-Long hosted by LeeSwammes « Bibliojunkie

  13. Pingback: Read-a-long, Roberto Bolaño’s 2666

  14. I’ll say yes too. I’ve got a lot going on at the moment, but that doesn’t stop me from reading up. Though I don’t think I’ll be able to join in the discussions during a good part of April cause I’ll be travelling (with my copy of 2666, of course 😉

    • Leeswammes says:

      Great you are reading 2666 too, Zee. It’s a heavy tome to be carrying with you. Love to hear what you think of the book when you have time to check in.

  15. Pingback: Book Read! 2666 « The Books of Life!

  16. Pingback: Bolaño 2666 Read-A-Long – Week 5 « Leeswammes' Blog

  17. Pingback: Submit Data

  18. Pingback: 2666… Phew finally! « Bibliojunkie

  19. Pingback: 2666… Phew finally! « Bibliojunkie

  20. Pingback: The Challenges in 2011 « Bibliojunkie

I love comments! Let me know what you think.